loobielabels

So many treasures

Posted on: May 12, 2011

As some of my fellow Etsy readers know, treasuries are becoming more common.  And for those of you who don’t know, a treasury is a collection of items that share a common theme.  People spend a lot of time searching Etsy for the perfect combination of items that fit their theme and hoping that it will make it to the home page on Etsy.com.

Over the past year, many of my items have made it into treasuries, but so far, no front page.  I know some people live and breathe “front page worthy” treasuries, but I don’t. I don’t make my items in hopes of getting them on the front page.  I make them because I love what I do and I want to make my customers happy.  That’s it. Maybe it’s simple and “small potatoes” but I know that the day my focus moves away from those 2 things is the day I will close my shop forever. 

My newest item, Pay it Forward cards, made it into a treasury yesterday.  http://www.etsy.com/treasury/4dcb2c8729ba8eef9f1f0faf/thank-you  Obviously, I was happy that someone found one of my items treasury-worthy, but to be honest, I never figured people would pay too much attention to these cards.

The Pay it Forward cards are a set of 4 small cards that you give to someone when you help them out.  Rather than having you pay them back for their kindness, you encourage them to pay it forward.  When they do THEIR good deed, they pass the card along to the next person to encourage them to do the same.  I created these cards as more of an experiment.  I wanted to see if anyone out there was willing to undertake the task of helping 4 strangers without expecting anything in return.  So far, no sales.  I would love for these to “take off” and be my biggest seller.  It would definitely renew my faith in humanity, given all the negativity that seems to be in the news these days.  I’m still hopeful.

Wishing you a life less ordinary,

Lisa

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • loobielabels: Thanks, Madalyn! As a mom, I generally do most of my work after my daughter is in bed for the night. I put in anywhere from 2-5 hours a day, broken
  • loobielabels: This was actually one of the stock layouts, so I didn't pay anything for it. However, I thank the person responsible - it definitely is a nice layout
  • loobielabels: Thanks, Celeste! :-)

Categories

