loobielabels

Proud of my quirks

Posted on: May 28, 2011

What kind of granddaughter would I be without a nod to my grandpa as well?  I never really knew my grandfather, as he lived on the other side of the country for most of my life.  He didn’t move back until I was in high school, and it wasn’t long after moving back that he passed away.  I think he knew his time was nearing, and he wanted to be near his family.  What I do remember about him is that he was very smart.  He never stopped learning, and when you talked to him, he spoke with the confidence of someone who was obviously well-educated.  He was a little on the eccentric side as well, which is where I think I get my odd little quirks.  I regret that I didn’t have more time to get to know him, but he is alive in me in many, many ways.

Why the trip down memory lane?  My grandfather was the inspiration for one of my newer listings, a photo memorial candle.  That is his picture you see, and it was recently included in a treasury that celebrates our fallen military heroes.  It is a beautiful treasury – one that brought a tear to my eye – and I’d love to share it with you, so we all can remember the REAL meaning of this weekend.  It’s not about the day off work/school and it’s not about what you’re going to grill or how many fish you’re going to catch.  So many brave men & women have served our country (like my grandfather did) and many of them made the ultimate sacrifice when they laid down their lives for their country.  I hope we never forget that, and I hope everyone takes the time to reflect and be thankful for those who died serving our country.

http://www.etsy.com/treasury/4de021134dd38eefa8516847/your-watch-has-ended

Wishing you a life less ordinary,

Lisa

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • loobielabels: Thanks, Madalyn! As a mom, I generally do most of my work after my daughter is in bed for the night. I put in anywhere from 2-5 hours a day, broken
  • loobielabels: This was actually one of the stock layouts, so I didn't pay anything for it. However, I thank the person responsible - it definitely is a nice layout
  • loobielabels: Thanks, Celeste! :-)

Categories

